Open Artist Project and Research Grants

Wherewithal Grants 2027 Cycle

Two grant tracks support DC-area visual artists: public-facing projects and research or experimentation. The 2027 application portal is open.

JJ Ben-Joseph, founder of FindMyMoney.App
Reviewed by JJ Ben-Joseph
Official source: Wherewithal Grants, managed by Washington Project for the Arts and funded by the Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts
💰 Funding $5,000 for research grants; $7,500 for Project & Presentation grants
📅 Deadline Nov 19, 2026
📍 Location Washington, DC area: DC, Arlington, Alexandria, Fairfax, Montgomery, and Prince George’s counties
🏛️ Source Wherewithal Grants, managed by Washington Project for the Arts and funded by the Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts

Wherewithal Grants 2027 Cycle

The Wherewithal Grants program is accepting applications for its 2027 cycle. It offers Washington-area visual artists two kinds of support: $7,500 for a Project & Presentation Grant and $5,000 for a Research Grant. Applications close November 19, 2026, at 11:59 p.m. Eastern Time. The official site says the portal is open and provides previews of questions for both tracks. Program overview; Key Dates and FAQ.

The main decision is whether your proposal centers on a public project during 2027 or on research and experimentation. An artist may apply to one track in a cycle, not both. Check the eligibility rules and compare the track purposes before beginning the form.

At a glance

Item2027 details
Manager and funderWashington Project for the Arts; Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts
Awards$7,500 Project & Presentation; $5,000 Research
StatusApplication portal open; question previews available
DeadlineNovember 19, 2026, 11:59 p.m. ET
Eligible residenceDC, Arlington, Alexandria, Fairfax, Montgomery, or Prince George’s County
Grant periodJanuary–December 2027
Project & PresentationPublic presentation during the grant period, in the eligible area or virtually
Research15-minute public-facing presentation requested in fall 2027

These amounts, locations, and dates come from the official program site and its Key Dates and FAQ. The published information does not give a separate payment date or a required-document checklist; check the live form or ask the regrants manager to verify those details.

What the two grants support

The $7,500 Project & Presentation Grant supports new or ongoing projects that embrace unconventional or DIY values and will be presented publicly during the January–December 2027 grant period. Examples of public presentations include an event, exhibition, performance, publication, screening, reading, installation, or tour. The project must take place in the eligible area or virtually. Those are stated program conditions. Program overview.

The $5,000 Research Grant supports artists’ ideation, research, and experimentation. At least $3,500 must compensate the applicant for research and development time; the balance may cover collaborators and research-related expenses. Research grantees are also asked to prepare a 15-minute public-facing presentation in fall 2027. The award therefore includes a required minimum allocation for the artist’s time and a later sharing expectation. Program overview.

For track fit, consider the central purpose of the work. A proposal built around a defined public outcome may fit Project & Presentation; a proposal focused on investigation, testing, or development may fit Research. This is practical guidance drawn from the program descriptions, not a statement about panel scoring. The brief does not publish selection criteria.

Who should apply and eligibility

Applicants must live in the greater Washington area and have a history of presenting work in visual arts contexts or venues. The eligible locations are Washington, DC; Arlington; Alexandria; Fairfax County; Montgomery County; and Prince George’s County. Residence is an applicant condition. A Project & Presentation project may occur in the eligible area or virtually, but a virtual project does not remove the residence requirement. Program overview.

Full-time undergraduate and graduate students are ineligible, as are 501(c)(3) organizations and for-profit organizations. An artist may apply for only one of the two tracks this cycle. Collective applicants must designate a lead person to manage funds, communications, and reporting. These are published rules; if your status is not clearly addressed, confirm it with the program before submitting. Program overview.

Research applicants should account for the fall 2027 presentation request when deciding whether the track fits. For collectives, agree on the person who will take the lead responsibilities before filling in the application. The brief does not specify collective agreements or other supporting paperwork, so do not assume any is required unless the live form says so.

How to Apply

The official program site confirms that the 2027 portal is open and that question previews are available for both tracks. Start with the program site and review the Key Dates and FAQ. Read the preview for the track you are considering, then use the live application to confirm its current prompts and submission instructions.

A practical sequence:

  1. Check residence, visual-arts presentation history, student status, and whether you are applying as an individual or collective.
  2. Select one track. For Project & Presentation, identify a public presentation during the 2027 grant period. For Research, make sure the project centers on ideation, research, or experimentation.
  3. Draft responses against the official preview, then verify every field and instruction in the live form.
  4. For a Research budget, show at least $3,500 for your research and development time. Follow any budget format specified in the application.
  5. Submit through the portal before November 19, 2026, at 11:59 p.m. ET, and check the portal’s own status or confirmation.

The supplied program information confirms the portal, previews, deadline, and a regrants manager who can answer application questions. It does not reproduce the form or specify required uploads, document formats, word limits, or a confirmation process. A résumé, work sample, budget attachment, or letter should not be treated as mandatory unless the live form requests it. Use the official contact details if a form instruction or eligibility question remains unclear. Program site; Key Dates and FAQ.

Timeline and deadlines

Applications close November 19, 2026, at 11:59 p.m. ET. An independent panel convenes in December, and notifications are expected in late December. The grant period runs January through December 2027. These dates are published on the Key Dates and FAQ page.

The deadline is a specific cutoff. The panel and notification details describe an expected schedule, not a guaranteed decision day. The official information provided does not specify when awards will be paid. If payment timing affects a project plan, ask the program rather than assuming disbursement follows notification immediately.

Project & Presentation work needs to be presented during the January–December 2027 period. Research grantees are asked to prepare their 15-minute public-facing presentation in fall 2027, but the brief gives no specific date or venue. Check the application or award communications for details. Program overview.

Preparing a clear proposal

The following are optional preparation suggestions, not added program requirements. Before drafting, summarize the work in one sentence and identify its central activity. Then align the track, proposed work, budget, and timing with that purpose. This helps keep your responses consistent while leaving the application’s actual prompts in control.

For Project & Presentation, plan the public outcome early. Choose the form that fits the work—such as an exhibition, screening, publication, performance, or tour—and map it within the grant period. Confirm that the project will take place in the eligible area or virtually. The program lists examples but does not specify a required venue, audience size, or presentation format beyond a public presentation. Program overview.

For Research, distinguish your own research and development time from collaborator and research-related expenses. Make the required $3,500 minimum for your time visible in your working budget, then plan how the remainder supports the work. The brief does not state a required budget template or what proof, if any, accompanies the budget; use the live form to settle those points. Program overview.

If applying as a collective, discuss who will manage funds, communications, and reporting. Those are the lead person’s named responsibilities. Agreeing on the lead in advance is advice to make the application and any later administration clearer; the published rule is simply that a collective designate a lead.

Common mistakes and points to verify

Do not apply to both tracks in the same cycle. Do not assume that project location alone makes an applicant eligible: the applicant must meet the residence and visual-arts presentation-history conditions. Full-time undergraduate and graduate students, 501(c)(3) organizations, and for-profit organizations are excluded. Program overview.

For Project & Presentation, include a public presentation in the 2027 period and place the project in the eligible area or online. For Research, respect the $3,500 minimum for the applicant’s research and development time and plan for the fall 2027 presentation request. These are stated details that can be checked before submission. Program overview.

Two administrative details remain unconfirmed in the supplied official information: a separate payment date and a required application-document checklist. Review the live application for fields and uploads; ask the regrants manager if anything remains unclear. Do not infer a standard grant schedule or packet from another funder’s process.

Frequently asked questions

Can I apply to both grants?

No. An artist may apply for either Research or Project & Presentation in a cycle, but not both. Program overview.

What presentation is expected?

Project & Presentation proposals must culminate in a public presentation during the grant period; examples include an event, exhibition, performance, publication, screening, reading, installation, or tour. Research grantees are asked to prepare a separate 15-minute public-facing presentation in fall 2027. Program overview.

What documents must I submit?

The available information does not list required documents. Check the live portal and its instructions, and contact the regrants manager for anything that remains unclear.

When are decisions and payments expected?

The independent panel convenes in December 2026, with notifications expected in late December. No exact notification day or separate payment date is specified in the supplied official information. The grant period is January–December 2027. Key Dates and FAQ.

Official sources

Visit the Wherewithal Grants program site for award descriptions, eligibility, question previews, and the application portal. Use its Key Dates and FAQ for the deadline and cycle schedule. Wherewithal is managed by Washington Project for the Arts and funded by the Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts. Follow the live application or award communications for details not specified on these pages.

Next step
Apply Now