Deadline Passed Year Long Fellowship Placement

Princeton in Africa Fellowship 2027–2028

A 12-month fellowship program placing selected applicants with partner organizations in African countries; placements and packages depend on available host posts.

JJ Ben-Joseph, founder of FindMyMoney.App
Reviewed by JJ Ben-Joseph
Official source: Princeton in Africa
💰 Funding Variable location-based living stipend
📅 Historical deadline Oct 26, 2026
📍 Location African countries; placement depends on available host posts
🏛️ Source Princeton in Africa

This captured cycle appears closed. Use this page for historical guidance unless the official source has reopened the program.

Captured cycle: This page is retained for historical guidance. Confirm whether the program has reopened before planning an application.

Princeton in Africa Fellowship 2027–2028

Princeton in Africa (PiAf) is a 12-month fellowship program that places selected applicants with partner organizations in African countries. It is designed for early-career applicants who want a year of professional experience in a host organization, with the specific country and role determined by available posts. The 2027–2028 application is open through October 26, 2026, at 11:59 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time (EDT). Applicants apply to the fellowship program rather than selecting a particular country or position.

The program describes its financial package as support for practical expenses during a placement. Depending on the host post, it may include housing, a location-based living stipend, certain visa or work-permit costs, and medical, evacuation, and security insurance. The package is not identical across placements. Review the details below and confirm current application instructions directly with PiAf before submitting.

At a glance

Item2027–2028 details
ProgramPrinceton in Africa Fellowship
Fellowship length12 months
PlacementPartner organization in an African country; post and location depend on openings
Application deadlineOctober 26, 2026, 11:59 p.m. EDT
Interview periodJanuary 2027 for applicants invited to interview; interviews are virtual
Placement finalizationLate May 2027
Start windowJune–August 2027
StipendVaries by location and in-kind benefits; examples range from about $350 to over $1,000 per month
Application routeOnline application through Princeton’s Global Programs System
Official informationPiAf applicant FAQs

The dates, application requirements, and examples in this guide come from PiAf’s published applicant FAQ. The FAQ is the official source for details that can change, including the live application instructions and post-specific package information.

What the fellowship provides

PiAf places selected fellows with partner organizations for a 12-month term. The program aims to cover on-the-ground expenses, including housing and a living stipend, certain visas or work permits, and medical, evacuation, and security insurance. Which benefits are included, and how the package is structured, depend on the host post. Applicants should therefore treat the package as placement-specific rather than as a uniform award with a single guaranteed stipend or benefits list. (PiAf, applicant FAQs)

PiAf gives stipend examples to show how host-provided benefits affect the cash amount. Where housing, meals, and transportation are provided in kind, the monthly stipend example is around $350. Where those benefits are not provided, the example is over $1,000 per month. These are examples, not a promise that every placement will pay one of those figures. The complete package for the 2027–2028 fellowship depends on the eventual host assignment. (PiAf, applicant FAQs)

The fellowship is best understood as a professional placement with support tied to a particular post. It is not an applicant-selected country grant: the complete list of 2027–2028 hosts and posts has not been finalized, and candidates cannot apply to a specific post or country. Consider whether you can be flexible about placement and whether a 12-month commitment fits your plans before applying.

Who should apply and eligibility

The published criteria cover age, education, English proficiency, passport validity, and enrollment status. The program says applicants may be young professionals or undergraduates graduating by June 2027. Applicants must hold a bachelor’s, master’s, or PhD from an eligible U.S.-accredited or African university and be no older than 35 during the fellowship year. The brief describes English proficiency at CEFR C1; the PiAf FAQ should be consulted for its precise current wording. (PiAf, applicant FAQs)

Applicants need a passport valid until at least six months after the fellowship year. They may not be enrolled in graduate, doctoral, or equivalent advanced study during the fellowship year. Citizenship is not limited to the United States: citizens of any country may apply if they meet the stated criteria. This does not remove other requirements, such as the qualifying degree, age limit, English proficiency, and passport validity. (PiAf, applicant FAQs)

Before starting an application, check your eligibility against the precise dates and definitions PiAf publishes. In particular, verify how the age limit applies to your circumstances during the fellowship year, whether your institution and degree meet the eligible-university criterion, and how PiAf expects English proficiency to be demonstrated. The supplied information does not specify an English test, score, or proof format, so do not assume one is required or sufficient; check the current FAQ or application system.

How to apply

The published application route is online. Create an account in Princeton’s Global Programs System and complete the PiAf application there. The FAQ identifies three concrete application components: the online application, an English CV of no more than two pages, and one application-specific recommendation letter. It also requires an official digital transcript sent directly by the university registrar. Applicants cannot forward the transcript themselves, and incomplete applications are not considered. (PiAf, applicant FAQs)

A practical sequence is to open the application system early, read each field and instruction, then request the recommendation and transcript with enough lead time for other people and offices to act. Make sure the recommender understands that the letter is for this application. Ask your registrar to send the official digital transcript directly as instructed; a personal upload or forwarded copy does not meet the stated delivery rule. Keep track of whether each item has actually arrived in the system rather than assuming a request is equivalent to receipt.

The brief does not enumerate every field or any additional upload slots in the application system. Follow the live application’s instructions if it asks for information not described in the FAQ, and use PiAf’s official FAQ to resolve discrepancies. Do not add documents based on guesses or treat optional supporting material as a published requirement.

Timeline and deadlines

The application is open through October 26, 2026, at 11:59 p.m. EDT. This is a specific time zone, so applicants outside the Eastern time zone should convert the cutoff for their location and submit with a margin. An application is not complete if required components are missing: PiAf says incomplete applications are not considered. (PiAf, applicant FAQs)

The confirmed later milestones are for applicants invited to interview and those selected for placements. PiAf schedules virtual interviews in January 2027 for invited applicants. Selected placements are finalized in late May 2027. Fellowship start dates fall between June and August 2027, and each term lasts 12 months, ending in 2028. The published information here does not provide exact interview days, a notification date, or specific start dates; applicants should not plan around an assumed date within those windows. (PiAf, applicant FAQs)

Preparation and common mistakes

Optional preparation advice: Begin by making a personal checklist from the official requirements: online application, CV within the two-page maximum, one application-specific recommendation, and registrar-sent official digital transcript. This checklist is a planning aid, not an additional program rule. Give the recommender and registrar the deadline and submission route, then confirm receipt well before the closing time.

Optional preparation advice: Use the CV’s limited space to make your experience easy to understand. State roles and dates clearly, and connect relevant responsibilities or outcomes to the kind of professional work you hope to undertake. This is general application-writing guidance, not a PiAf-published scoring rubric. The available brief does not state selection criteria, preferred fields, or how applications are ranked, so avoid tailoring to imagined criteria.

Common avoidable problems follow directly from the published instructions. Do not submit a CV longer than two pages or use a generic recommendation if the application-specific letter is required. Do not forward your own transcript: the registrar must send it directly. Do not wait until the final hours to discover that a university office or recommender has not completed its part. Finally, do not interpret the stipend examples as guaranteed compensation or assume that a preferred country or post can be selected.

Because placements are not finalized at application time, applicants may want to think through practical flexibility in advance: whether a year-long move is feasible, what questions they would need answered about a specific post, and how the offered benefits would affect a personal budget. This is prudent planning advice, not a published eligibility criterion. The actual location and package remain dependent on available host posts and assignment details.

Frequently asked questions

Can I apply to a particular country or host organization?

No. The complete list of 2027–2028 hosts and posts is not finalized, and applicants cannot apply to a specific country or post. Placement depends on available host positions. PiAf’s FAQ is the place to check for updates as the cycle progresses.

Is the stipend a fixed amount?

No single fixed amount is established in the supplied information. PiAf offers examples from around $350 per month where housing, meals, and transportation are provided to over $1,000 where they are not. The amount and benefits vary by location and host package. Ask PiAf to confirm the package attached to an actual placement rather than budgeting from an example.

Do I have to be a U.S. citizen?

No. The FAQ says citizens of any country may apply if they meet the criteria. Applicants still need to satisfy the other published conditions, including the qualifying degree, age limit, English proficiency, passport validity, and restriction on advanced-study enrollment during the fellowship year.

Can I be enrolled in graduate school during the fellowship?

The stated rule is that applicants may not be enrolled in graduate, doctoral, or equivalent advanced study during the fellowship year. If your academic status or plans do not fit this description clearly, verify your situation with PiAf before submitting.

What happens after I apply?

Applicants invited to interview have virtual interviews in January 2027. Selected placements are finalized in late May 2027, and start dates are between June and August 2027. The supplied facts do not describe every selection stage or give a notification date, so consult the official FAQ for current cycle updates.

What is still unconfirmed

The 2027–2028 host organization and post list is not yet finalized, and there is no confirmed country or job choice at application time. The stipend and other package elements also remain placement-dependent. The available information does not establish selection criteria, acceptance odds, interview questions, exact interview or notification dates, a required English test, or a full list of every application field. Applicants should verify those details in the live Global Programs System and PiAf’s FAQ rather than relying on assumptions.

Official source

Next step
Check official source