OTJ Fellowship Class of 2027: Fully Funded Year-Long Fellowship for African Researchers, Builders and Stewards
Historical reference for OTJ Fellowship Cohort II / Class of 2027, a fully funded year of seminars, residencies, a stipend, and a supported capstone for African researchers, builders, and stewards. The published application deadline has passed, and no later cohort has been announced on the official site.
OTJ Fellowship Class of 2027: Fully Funded Year-Long Fellowship for African Researchers, Builders and Stewards
Historical reference: OTJ Holdings’ official site identifies this as Cohort II / Class of 2027 and lists 30 September as the written application close. That date has passed. The official homepage, eligibility page, and application page reviewed for this update do not announce a later class or a new application window. This page records the 2027 cycle; it is not a notice that applications are currently open.
Programme overview
The OTJ Fellowship is a year-long programme for researchers, builders, and stewards who have already begun serious work on a consequential question. OTJ describes its fellows as early peers rather than students. The programme combines a weekly seminar, residencies alongside operating institutions, field work, and an individually selected capstone. Its public material presents the fellowship as fully funded and lists 24 fellows per cohort.
The official programme frames the year as a combination of reflection and practical work. Seminars draw on political economy, technology policy, natural sciences, and humanities. Residencies place fellows alongside research labs, public agencies, and ventures. The fellowship describes four extended residencies across the continent, with individual placements lasting two to four weeks. A fellow develops a question across the year and, with an advisor, produces and presents a capstone at the closing convening.
The capstone examples on the official site include a paper, prototype, policy brief, or institution begun. These are examples of possible forms, not a fixed deliverable required of every fellow. The central expectation is a substantial work connected to the fellow’s question. The published programme is not a degree course and does not advertise an academic credential.
Funding and cohort format
OTJ states that the fellowship covers tuition, residency travel, accommodation, a monthly stipend for the cohort year, and a capstone allowance. The public pages reviewed do not give a cash value for the stipend or allowance, a payment schedule, or itemized limits. Therefore, this listing records the support categories but cannot give a reliable monetary total. There is no application fee according to the official criteria page.
The cohort size published for the programme is 24 fellows. The homepage’s description of the inaugural class says it received applications from more than two thousand people across 41 African countries. That figure describes the earlier class and should not be read as a forecast, selection rate, or promise about the 2027 applicant pool.
Who was eligible
The official criteria opened the fellowship to citizens of any African country. It also welcomed scholars of the African diaspora whose work materially concerns the continent. The public criteria did not set an age limit; they noted that most fellows were between 22 and 32. That age range described the cohort and was not presented as an eligibility restriction.
OTJ evaluates more than academic performance. It asks for a record, whether academic, professional, or civic, that shows the applicant has already started to take a question seriously. The criteria specifically say prior work and letters of reference matter more than transcripts alone. Relevant evidence could therefore come from research, public service, technical work, writing, community practice, or institution-building, provided the applicant can explain their contribution and connect it to the proposed inquiry.
The application’s substantive question was whether the applicant had a question worth spending a year pursuing. The official criteria described a 2,000-word statement for this purpose. Applicants needed to show why the question mattered, how it related to their past work, and how it could be developed through the fellowship. The criteria also emphasized “capacity for company”: the ability to read other fellows’ work carefully, accept scrutiny, and contribute thoughtfully to a shared intellectual life.
For diaspora applicants, the African nexus was explicit. Their work needed to concern the continent materially, rather than mention Africa only in passing. Applicants who were citizens of African countries could apply across fields, but would still need to make the importance and scope of their chosen question legible to a cross-disciplinary cohort.
The published year structure
The OTJ programme page organized the year into four terms. The opening term runs from September to December in Nairobi. Fellows begin with a two-week orientation and seminar, meet the cohort and faculty, and frame the questions they have brought to the programme.
The next term runs from January to March and includes a Cape Town residency. OTJ describes a four-week placement hosted by partner institutions. Fellows may shadow teams, spend time in boardrooms or laboratories, and start shaping methods for their capstone. The page presents this as institutional observation connected to fellows’ own work, rather than simply a conference visit.
From April to May, the programme moves into distributed field work. The official description says some fellows may travel to ministries or research stations, while others may remain near their seminar advisor. Bi-weekly written submissions return to the cohort during this stage. In practical terms, the model expects participants to share developing work, not wait until they have polished final conclusions.
The final term runs from June to August in Lagos. Fellows complete and defend their capstones in seminar, then present them at the closing convocation. The official programme states that the event is open to faculty, alumni, and invited guests of the fellowship. These month ranges describe the programme’s published structure; individual placement details and travel arrangements would need confirmation from OTJ.
Selection approach and application materials
The official criteria page named four qualities. First, demonstrated seriousness: evidence that the applicant has already begun work on a question. Second, a question of consequence: a focused inquiry substantial enough to support a year of study and work. Third, capacity for company: intellectual generosity in a cohort setting. Fourth, an African nexus: a material relationship between the work and Africa, with the diaspora criterion applying as described above.
For Cohort II / Class of 2027, OTJ specified a 2,000-word statement and said letters of reference and prior work matter in assessing seriousness. The application page directs applicants to “Begin Application” by contacting [email protected]; it does not publish a linked form, full attachment checklist, universal CV format, transcript rule, reference count, or file type. The public material therefore supports those criteria, but not a more detailed submission recipe. This archive does not suggest that applications can still be submitted after the published close. Any later round may use different instructions.
A strong historical application file would have needed to connect the question, the applicant’s track record, and a plausible capstone. Useful work samples vary by discipline: a paper, public report, prototype, policy memo, dataset, article, programme evaluation, design portfolio, or documented community project could each make prior work concrete. The relevant issue is whether reviewers could understand what the applicant personally did and what the evidence shows.
References were part of the evidence emphasized by the criteria. A useful referee would be able to describe the applicant’s judgment, persistence, collaboration, and intellectual habits from direct experience. The official site does not publish special instructions about how references were submitted, so candidates in a future round should rely on that round’s live application directions rather than assume the 2027 process will repeat exactly.
Application status and dates
The official Class of 2027 calendar listed applications opening on 14 June, the written round closing on 30 September, interviews convening on 12 November, and the cohort being announced on 1 February. The calendar page did not state a year beside each month and day. The 30 September 2026 date retained in this record is the closed application deadline associated with the Class of 2027 listing.
As of this page’s review, the official site still carries language calling the Class of 2027 applications open even though its own published written-round close has passed. The application page describes the round as closing at the end of September but does not state that late applications are accepted, that the window remains open until the cohort fills, or that an extension has been granted. This page therefore does not represent the opportunity as continuously open. Prospective applicants should not rely on the stale open label as evidence that a submission can still be made.
No Class of 2028 or other later application calendar was announced on the official pages reviewed. No new deadline can be responsibly supplied here. Readers interested in a future class can monitor the programme’s own pages and contact the fellowship through its published email address, [email protected], to ask whether a new cycle has been announced. A reply from the programme would be needed to confirm any dates or changes not yet posted publicly.
What a future applicant should verify
If OTJ announces a later cohort, check that cycle’s official eligibility and application pages before preparing a submission. Confirm its application dates, exact written materials, reference process, participation requirements, locations, and any residency schedule. Confirm the funding terms directly as well, since the public description names tuition, travel, accommodation, stipend, and capstone support but does not provide their individual values or detailed conditions.
The shape of the programme suggests that candidates should consider whether they can commit to a year of cohort activity, residencies, seminars, field work, and a capstone. The official structure includes Nairobi, Cape Town, field placements, and Lagos. The exact cities and partner institutions may change in a future cycle, so applicants should check the current programme description rather than assume these remain fixed.
Applicants should also be ready to explain how they work with people outside their field. The stated cohort criterion is not just a general preference for teamwork: OTJ describes fellows reading one another’s work and being read in turn. A clear account of how critique has changed a project, how collaborators shaped a decision, or how the applicant communicates technical work would speak directly to that criterion.
A proposed capstone should be concrete enough to judge. A research paper needs a clear contribution; a prototype needs a defined user or test setting; a policy brief should identify the decision it could inform; and a proposed institution needs a plausible first form. These are practical interpretations of OTJ’s published examples, not additional formal requirements. Any later call for applications should take precedence if it sets different expectations.
Official links and source notes
- OTJ Fellowship — programme overview
- OTJ Fellowship — eligibility and criteria
- OTJ Fellowship — application page
- OTJ Fellowship — programme year
The programme is convened by OTJ Holdings, which the official site identifies as the fellowship’s parent organization. The details in this archive come from those official pages. The official site is the place to confirm whether a new cohort has been announced and to obtain current terms before acting on any future opportunity.