Historical Fellowship

Mercatus Exploring Complex Solutions Fellowship Spring 2027: Up to $750 for High School Students

Historical reference for Mercatus Center’s spring 2027 online fellowship for high school students. The award was up to $750, and the published application deadline was September 30, 2026; no later application cycle is announced on the official program page.

JJ Ben-Joseph, founder of FindMyMoney.App
Reviewed by JJ Ben-Joseph
Official source: Mercatus Center at George Mason University
💰 Funding Up to USD 750 total, including a stipend, required readings, and college, research, and career …
đź“… Deadline Historical reference
📍 Location Worldwide and Online
🏛️ Source Mercatus Center at George Mason University

Mercatus Exploring Complex Solutions Fellowship Spring 2027: Up to $750 for High School Students

The Mercatus Center at George Mason University runs the Exploring Complex Solutions for a Complex World Fellowship, an online, semester-long program for high school students interested in political, economic, and social life. Its official program page identifies a spring 2027 cohort and published a deadline of September 30, 2026. That deadline has passed. Mercatus has not announced a later application cycle on the program page, so this entry is a historical reference to the spring 2027 application, not an invitation to apply now.

The official page still displays “Applications are now open,” and its linked form remains accessible, even though the page also gives September 30, 2026 as the deadline. Mercatus does not say that late applications will be considered and has not published an extension. The open label and available form therefore do not establish that a late application will be reviewed. Anyone who already submitted an application can contact the program team about its status. A prospective applicant should ask Mercatus directly before preparing a submission for the spring 2027 round.

The published fellowship combines online reading and discussion with a total award of up to $750. Mercatus says that total includes a stipend, required readings, and advice on college, research, and career choices. The page does not break out the cash portion. Its activities take place during one semester of the academic year and introduce students to questions about social complexity, planning, trade-offs, and political economy.

Spring 2027 opportunity details

DetailPublished information
ProgramExploring Complex Solutions for a Complex World Fellowship
OperatorMercatus Center at George Mason University
CohortSpring 2027
FormatOnline, semester-long program
AwardUp to $750 total, including a stipend, readings, and advice
Eligible studentsHigh school students in public school, private school, or homeschool
Age requirementAt least 16 by the start of the fellowship
LocationStudents at high schools in the United States or abroad may apply; programming is online
Published deadlineSeptember 30, 2026; passed
Application statusHistorical entry; the official page still says applications are open, but no late deadline is confirmed
Weekly timeAbout 2–3 hours, according to the FAQ
MeetingsFour scheduled online discussions, each 60 minutes
Program pageMercatus fellowship page
Application formMercatus application form

The two official links remain useful for checking the published details and asking the program team a question. The form’s continued availability does not establish that a submission after the listed deadline will be reviewed. The application email shown on the form is [email protected]. The program page also directs general questions and application-status questions to Mercatus’s academic and student programs contact.

What the fellowship is designed to do

The program is an academic discussion opportunity, not a tuition scholarship, paid job, or internship placement. Its subject is the way social and economic life involves connected decisions, competing aims, information, and institutional choices. Students encounter arguments about planning and trade-offs and discuss how ideas apply to real questions. The official page describes interaction with Mercatus Center scholars holding doctoral degrees in economics, political science, and sociology, alongside discussion with other high school participants.

The format has two parts. Fellows take part in four virtual reading-group sessions across the semester. Hayek Program scholars lead the groups, and sessions are scheduled outside regular high school attendance hours. In addition, the program uses an online discussion portal with readings, videos, podcasts, and written prompts. Participants are expected to log in regularly, read assigned material, bring questions or comments to the meetings, and take part in the online discussions.

Reading selections may come from books listed on the official page, including Applied Mainline Economics, Do Markets Corrupt Our Morals?, Community Revival in the Wake of Disaster, Doing Bad by Doing Good, and National Economic Planning. The list is illustrative: the page says participants receive copies of the books to be discussed and describes reading selections from four assigned books. Accepted fellows receive the specific schedule and materials. Applicants should not treat the sample list as a guaranteed syllabus or buy books in advance.

Mercatus describes the award as up to $750 in total value. It includes a stipend, required readings, and advice on college, research, and career choices. The source does not state the amount of the stipend separately, explain payment timing, or say that every participant receives $750 in cash. It is safest to understand the figure as the full stated award rather than a guaranteed unrestricted cash payment. The FAQ also assigns each fellow responsibility for checking eligibility to receive funding and for taxes on honoraria paid for participation. Students can ask Mercatus and, where relevant, a guardian, school office, international student office, or private foundation how those rules apply to them.

Advice from scholars and staff and practice in a thoughtful reading group may be useful to students exploring possible college disciplines. Fellows can gain experience evaluating claims, asking focused questions, and discussing disagreement with people who bring different backgrounds. The official page says the experience is intended to help prepare students for college; it does not guarantee university admission, employment, a publication, or selection for another Mercatus program.

Eligibility and practical requirements

Applicants must be enrolled in high school and must be at least 16 years old by the start of the fellowship. Students attending public schools, private schools, and homeschool programs may apply. The FAQ says that students do not need to be enrolled in AP or advanced economics courses. Mercatus invites students interested in understanding political, economic, and social life; the published qualifications do not require a particular GPA, prior economics course, intended major, or citizenship.

Students of any nationality attending high school in the United States or abroad may apply. Mercatus says the program is conducted entirely online, but the online format still requires suitable computer equipment and internet access. Readings may be distributed electronically when applicable and by post before reading-group discussions. Fellows are responsible for keeping email and postal contact details current, so international applicants should consider whether they can receive mailed materials at their address.

Parent or guardian permission is required if a student is accepted. The application form requests the name of a parent or adult guardian and a separate guardian email address. A high school student should involve the guardian before sending personal details or making plans to attend the sessions. The FAQ also advises each participant to check funding eligibility in their own circumstances; eligibility to apply does not automatically settle whether a particular student can receive the award.

The expected workload is about 2–3 hours a week. This covers reading, asynchronous portal discussions, and scheduled meetings. The FAQ says the fellowship is supplemental and participants may also have jobs, other fellowships, and extracurricular activities. Applicants still need room in their weekly schedule for regular participation. The live sessions are part of the program, and Mercatus requires fellows to attend and actively participate in all scheduled online programming.

Program dates are subject to some variability and are communicated to successful applicants. Beyond identifying the spring 2027 cohort, the public page does not set out a full calendar. The four reading-group meetings are each 60 minutes. Participants are expected to join on time, prepare questions or comments, read the assigned materials, submit thoughtful questions about readings on time, check the discussion portal regularly, and complete a short evaluation survey after each module. Mercatus also asks participants to be honest, responsible, fair, and civil in their interactions.

Published application steps and materials

The spring 2027 application was submitted through Mercatus’s online form. The form starts by asking whether an applicant is currently enrolled in high school, including public or private school and homeschool, and whether the student will be at least 16 during the upcoming academic year. It then requests personal details, date of birth, school and country, contact information, and address. Some fields cover citizenship and U.S. immigration or residency status. The presence of these administrative questions does not override the program page’s stated eligibility for students of any nationality; applicants with funding questions should ask Mercatus directly.

The form requests a parent or adult guardian’s name and a guardian email address different from the applicant’s. It also asks how the applicant learned about the program, the applicant’s primary reasons for applying, and whether the student currently participates in or has previously completed a Mercatus Center fellowship. Applicants were asked to respond to six short essays, each limited to 1,250 characters:

  • Which high school course has been the applicant’s favorite so far, and why?
  • Which college majors or disciplines is the applicant considering, and why?
  • Which extracurricular activities has the applicant joined, and what did the applicant learn from them?
  • Which political, economic, or social issues concern the applicant most?
  • What does the applicant hope to gain from the fellowship, and how could it support their goals?
  • What has the applicant written about or participated in that inspired them to learn more about the world and people around them?

A resume or CV upload is optional. The form accepts PDF files up to 25 MB. The published form does not list a recommendation letter, transcript, or separate research proposal as required material. Applicants to a future cycle should check the new form and program instructions if Mercatus publishes them, since application requirements can change. These details describe the linked spring 2027 form, not an assurance that its currently accessible submission path remains open for review.

For a strong application, an essay should answer its question directly and use a specific example. For a favorite course, an applicant might describe a particular assignment, debate, or source that changed how they thought about evidence. For extracurricular activities, explain what the student did and what they learned about a subject, team, or community. A list of club names by itself gives little sense of the applicant’s interests.

The issue prompt can be answered from many points of view: housing, education, climate, public health, migration, technology, or another political, economic, or social concern. A focused answer explains the question the student wants to understand and why it matters to them. It need not guess at a preferred political position. For the final prompt, an actual paper, project, job, volunteer role, or other activity can show how an experience led the student to ask further questions. The form’s character limits make concise examples more useful than broad promises.

Deadline and cycle status

Mercatus published September 30, 2026 as the deadline for the spring 2027 cohort. When checked for this update, its official page still said applications were open, but it did not reconcile that label with the published deadline. Mercatus says review would begin after the deadline and anticipates that decisions will begin to be announced approximately eight weeks later. It does not say that late submissions will be considered or publish an extended deadline. The linked form remains reachable, but accessibility alone does not confirm acceptance or review of late materials. This entry preserves the announced cohort as a historical reference; it does not represent an open application window.

No later application cycle is announced on the program page or the current Mercatus fellowship directory. The directory continues to list Exploring Complex Solutions as a high school fellowship, but gives no later cohort or application deadline. The fellowship is therefore an existing Mercatus program with no newly announced round in the sources checked here. A student considering it should check the official program page for a future announcement and contact Mercatus with questions; the spring 2027 deadline is not a future deadline, and the older form should not be assumed to apply to another round.

The best contact for a question about an application or possible late submission is [email protected], as shown on the form. Ask clearly whether Mercatus is reviewing late spring 2027 applications and whether a future cycle has been scheduled. Until the organization confirms either point, the historical record remains: a spring 2027 program was announced, its published deadline was September 30, 2026, and the public page has not announced a later application round.

Frequently asked questions

Can a student outside the United States participate?

Mercatus says students of any nationality attending high school in the United States or abroad may apply, and that the program is entirely online. Participants still need internet and computer access, current contact details, and a way to receive readings that may be mailed.

Is the whole $750 paid as cash?

The official description says the total award is up to $750 and includes a stipend, required readings, and college, research, and career advice. It does not state the cash amount separately. Ask Mercatus about payment details and verify personal eligibility to receive the funding.

Is an advanced economics course required?

No. The FAQ explicitly says that students not enrolled in AP or advanced economics courses may apply. The listed qualifications are high school enrollment and being at least 16 at the start of the fellowship.

What happens after selection?

Accepted students receive specific program dates, which Mercatus says are subject to some variability. Participants need guardian permission, should keep email and postal information current, and are expected to attend four online discussions, read the assigned material, contribute in the portal, and complete the module surveys.

Can the 2027 application still be submitted?

The program page still shows an open applications message and the linked form is available, but the published deadline has passed. Mercatus does not confirm late applications on either page. Contact the program team before treating the form as open for consideration.

Official sources

This page preserves the details of the spring 2027 round for reference. Its deadline is historical, and readers should rely on a new official announcement for any future application window. The next cohort, if announced, may have a different calendar, form, questions, or eligibility instructions.

Next step
Check official source