Foreign Affairs IT Fellowship 2027
A two-year fellowship funding IT-related undergraduate or graduate study, internships, and professional development for future Foreign Service Diplomatic Technology Officers.
Foreign Affairs IT Fellowship 2027
The Foreign Affairs Information Technology (FAIT) Fellowship is a U.S. Department of State program administered by The Washington Center. It supports students pursuing information technology education and prepares them for work as Foreign Service Diplomatic Technology Officers. The 2027 cohort is for eligible students whose academic schedule fits four full-time fellowship semesters beginning in fall 2027 and graduation in spring 2029. The application window is open through December 7, 2026, at 11:59 p.m. Eastern Standard Time (EST). Applicants should check that their citizenship, degree program, GPA, and expected graduation date fit before assembling the required materials. (Official sources: FAIT Fellowship overview, eligibility requirements, and how to apply.)
At a glance
| Detail | 2027 cohort information |
|---|---|
| Program | Foreign Affairs IT (FAIT) Fellowship |
| Sponsor and administrator | U.S. Department of State; administered by The Washington Center |
| Funding type | Federal scholarship and fellowship |
| Academic funding | Up to $43,500 annually for eligible academic costs |
| Additional internship support | Stipends, housing, and travel allowances for two 10-week internships |
| Eligible study | IT-related bachelor’s or master’s program at an accredited U.S. institution |
| Citizenship and GPA | U.S. citizen; cumulative GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale |
| Fellowship study period | Four full-time semesters beginning fall 2027, with graduation expected spring 2029 |
| Application period | October 15 through December 7, 2026, at 11:59 p.m. EST |
| Application route | The Washington Center application portal; choose “FAIT Fellowship” under Apply Now |
| Service commitment | Five years as a Foreign Service Diplomatic Technology Officer after successful completion and satisfaction of entry requirements |
The annual academic figure is a maximum, not a guaranteed individual award. It covers listed costs for the final two undergraduate years or a two-year master’s program; internship support is separate. (Fellowship benefits.)
What the fellowship funds and includes
The FAIT Fellowship combines academic funding with experience and professional development. It provides up to $43,500 per year toward tuition, room and board, books, mandatory fees, and some travel for the final two undergraduate years or a two-year master’s program. The program page does not specify individual award calculations. (Fellowship benefits.)
Fellows receive stipends, housing, and travel allowances for a 10-week domestic summer internship at the Department of State in Washington, D.C., and a 10-week overseas internship at a U.S. Embassy or Consulate. The supplied information does not state stipend amounts, exact dates, overseas locations, or allowance calculations. (Fellowship benefits.)
The program includes personalized mentoring and professional development. Successful fellows who meet State Department entry requirements receive an appointment as Diplomatic Technology Officers and agree to five years of Foreign Service service. Weigh that commitment alongside the funding and internships. (Fellowship benefits; eligibility requirements.)
Who should apply and eligibility
The 2027 fellowship is for U.S. citizens enrolled, or planning to enroll, full time in an IT-related bachelor’s or master’s program at an accredited institution in the United States. Applicants must have a cumulative GPA of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale. Their academic plans must allow them to complete four full-time fellowship semesters beginning in fall 2027 and graduate in spring 2029. These are core eligibility and scheduling conditions; someone whose program calendar does not fit should confirm their eligibility with the program rather than assume that a different schedule can be accommodated. (2027 eligibility requirements.)
The commitment continues after selection. Fellows must maintain a 3.2 GPA, obtain and maintain a Top Secret security clearance, meet suitability and medical requirements, and pass the Foreign Service Specialist Assessment (FSSA) before graduation. After successful completion, they agree to five years of service as Foreign Service Diplomatic Technology Officers, subject to State Department entry requirements. These are continuing program obligations, not merely application preferences. Applicants should review the official eligibility page carefully and weigh whether they can accept the service commitment before applying. The supplied information does not explain individual clearance outcomes or exception processes; applicants should ask the program about any personal eligibility questions. (2027 eligibility requirements.)
As a fit check, compare your citizenship, institution, full-time enrollment, IT-related program, GPA, and expected graduation date with the requirements. This is preparation advice, not an additional criterion. If your grading scale, course plan, or program classification is unclear, seek clarification through the official application route; the supplied facts do not list qualifying majors.
How to Apply
Applications are submitted through The Washington Center portal. Create an account if you do not already have one, open the “Apply Now” tab, and select “FAIT Fellowship.” Complete the application and provide the listed materials before the deadline of December 7, 2026, at 11:59 p.m. EST. Check the portal’s current instructions as you apply, because it is the official route and the supplied brief does not describe portal-specific file formats or technical troubleshooting. (How to apply.)
The published application materials are:
- Proof of U.S. citizenship.
- Unofficial transcripts from each college attended for at least two semesters.
- A personal statement of no more than 750 words.
- A resume of no more than two pages.
- A statement describing financial need.
- One recommendation letter.
Financial-aid records also depend on your situation. If you received financial aid in the most recent academic year, submit the award letter and FAFSA Submission Summary. If you did not receive financial aid, complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) so that you can provide the FAFSA Submission Summary. The supplied application information identifies these items; follow the portal’s instructions for how to provide them. (How to apply.)
The personal statement limit is 750 words and the resume limit is two pages. Allow time to collect transcripts and aid records, request the recommendation, and check that all listed materials are present. These are preparation practices. The supplied information does not specify a recommendation format or writer profile; check the portal for details.
Timeline and deadlines
For the 2027 cohort, the application is open from October 15 through December 7, 2026, at 11:59 p.m. EST. This is a fixed closing time in the supplied official application information. Applicants in other time zones should convert the deadline in advance and use the time zone stated by the program. Avoid waiting until the last hours to upload files: that is sensible planning, though the program’s stated requirement is simply that the application be submitted by the published deadline. (How to apply.)
Finalist notifications and remote interviews are scheduled for January 2027. Exact days and notice periods are not stated. Check the portal and the contact method on your application for updates, and ask through the official channel if the timing affects your availability. (How to apply.)
Study begins in fall 2027 and comprises four full-time fellowship semesters, with graduation expected in spring 2029. Internship dates and their sequence relative to an individual academic calendar are not provided, so confirm scheduling details with the program. (Fellowship benefits; eligibility requirements.)
Preparation and common mistakes
The following are optional preparation practices, not published selection criteria. Start by comparing your actual transcript and degree plan with the 3.2 GPA minimum and spring 2029 graduation schedule. Ask an academic adviser to confirm that four full-time semesters from fall 2027 can lead to the stated graduation timing, especially if you anticipate transfer credits, part-time terms, or a program change. The eligibility page supplies the target schedule; it does not describe how those special circumstances are treated. (Eligibility requirements.)
For the personal statement, stay within 750 words and answer the portal’s actual prompt. As optional writing advice, connect your interest in IT study and academic preparation to the fellowship and the Foreign Service path. This is not a claim about the scoring rubric; no selection criteria are supplied.
Keep the resume within two pages, prepare applicable aid documents, and give your recommender time to submit the letter. These are practical steps, not additional requirements. The brief gives no preferred resume format or recommendation writer profile, so follow the portal’s instructions. (How to apply.)
Check full-time enrollment, do not assume the maximum award is guaranteed, include transcripts from colleges attended for at least two semesters, submit the aid records that apply to you, and convert 11:59 p.m. EST correctly. Also review the service commitment, clearance, and assessment conditions before applying. (Fellowship benefits; eligibility requirements; how to apply.)
Frequently asked questions
Is the fellowship open to graduate students?
Yes, the 2027 eligibility information includes full-time students in an IT-related bachelor’s or master’s program at an accredited U.S. institution. The academic funding description covers a two-year master’s program as well as the final two undergraduate years. Applicants still need to meet the citizenship, GPA, and spring 2029 graduation schedule requirements. (Eligibility requirements; fellowship benefits.)
Is every fellow guaranteed $43,500 each year?
The stated support is “up to” $43,500 per year for listed academic costs. The supplied facts do not say that all fellows receive the maximum or explain individual calculations. Check the official page or portal for details. (Fellowship benefits.)
What is the service obligation?
After successful completion and satisfaction of State Department entry requirements, fellows agree to serve five years as Foreign Service Diplomatic Technology Officers. The program also states that fellows must obtain and maintain a Top Secret clearance, meet suitability and medical requirements, and pass the FSSA before graduation. (Eligibility requirements.)
How many fellows will the program select for 2027?
The number of awards for the 2027 cohort is not stated in the cited program information. Check the official pages or ask through The Washington Center’s application channel; neither award count nor acceptance odds are confirmed here.
Where can I confirm an unclear requirement?
Use the official FAIT Fellowship application page and the eligibility requirements page. The application is handled through The Washington Center portal. For details not covered by the cited pages—such as how a particular major is classified, exact internship dates, or individual award calculations—ask through the current official application channel before relying on an assumption.
Official sources
- How to Apply: FAIT Fellowship — application portal steps, required materials, deadline, and finalist timeline.
- FAIT Fellowship — funding, internship support, mentoring, and professional development.
- Eligibility Requirements — cohort eligibility, academic schedule, clearance and assessment conditions, and service commitment.
The supplied official pages do not confirm the number of 2027 awards, individual funding calculations, exact internship dates, or all portal submission specifications. Verify those details with the program if they affect your application or planning.