Historical Funding Opportunity

CSR-Hub Cohort IV: Civic Space Protection and Regulatory Compliance Programme (Historical Reference)

Historical reference for CSR-Hub Cohort IV, a capacity-strengthening programme for legally registered civil society organisations in Ghana, Nigeria, and Senegal. The English call lists 30 January 2026; a later French edition lists 8 March 2026. No new call for this pillar is announced on the official pages checked.

JJ Ben-Joseph, founder of FindMyMoney.App
Reviewed by JJ Ben-Joseph
Official source: West Africa Civil Society Institute (WACSI) and Spaces for Change (S4C)
💰 Funding No cash award amount is stated in the Cohort IV call. It offered a 12-month programme of …
đź“… Deadline Historical reference
🏛️ Source West Africa Civil Society Institute (WACSI) and Spaces for Change (S4C)

CSR-Hub Cohort IV: Civic Space Protection and Regulatory Compliance Programme (Historical Reference)

Historical reference: Cohort IV is closed. The English call page, published on 27 January 2026, lists 30 January 2026. The French edition, published on 24 February 2026, lists 8 March 2026 at 11:59 p.m. GMT. The French page is later, but it does not label the date as an extension; this archive records the latest deadline published in the official call notices while retaining the discrepancy. The official pages reviewed show Cohort IV delivery activity but no new application call for this pillar. The old application link should not be treated as a current application route.

The Civic Space Resource Hub (CSR-Hub) is a West African initiative that supports civil society organisations working to defend civic freedoms and improve their institutional resilience. This page records the fourth cohort’s Civic Space Protection and Regulatory Compliance call. It is an archive of that completed application round, not an open grant notice. The distinction matters because the CSR-Hub website continues to describe its strategic pillars and may display general “Submit Application” links even when a specific cohort call has closed.

At a glance

FieldCohort IV details
ProgrammeCivic Space Protection and Regulatory Compliance pillar of the Civic Space Resource Hub
Implementing organisationsWest Africa Civil Society Institute (WACSI) and Spaces for Change (S4C) co-lead the wider hub project
Countries named in the callGhana, Nigeria, and Senegal
ApplicantsLegally registered civil society organisations, including NGOs, community-based organisations, and faith-based organisations
Experience and structureAt least two years active, plus five or more full-time staff or a consistent volunteer structure
SupportTailored training, individual coaching and mentoring, advisory support, action-planning help, and peer learning
DurationThe hub describes a 12-month support programme; the Cohort IV timeline lists training, coaching, and mentoring from March through November 2026
Cash awardNo grant amount or cash award is stated in the call
Deadline recorded in the later published edition8 March 2026 at 11:59 p.m. GMT in the French edition
StatusClosed; no subsequent call for this specific cohort was announced on the official pages checked

What the programme offered

CSR-Hub is the West Africa hub of the Global Weaving Resilience initiative. WACSI’s description of the project identifies WACSI and Spaces for Change in Nigeria as its co-leads, with support from the Ford Foundation. The hub’s work spans civic space protection and regulatory compliance, organisational governance, digital security, and resource mobilisation. Cohort IV’s call focused on the civic-space and compliance pillar.

The call describes support intended to help organisations understand the national rules governing civil society work, strengthen internal compliance systems and governance records, and engage constructively with regulators. It also connects this operational work to civic-space advocacy, risk management, and safeguarding. The programme is therefore best understood as organisational support rather than project financing: the published call does not state a grant, stipend, reimbursement, or cash award.

For selected organisations, the call describes a structured capacity-strengthening programme. Its listed elements include a three-day training, personalised one-to-one coaching and mentoring, practical advisory support, continued guidance during action planning, tailored mentoring, and peer learning with other participating organisations and previous CSR-Hub cohorts. It also offers a place in regional discussion and access to the hub’s learning and advocacy platform. The exact support an organisation would receive could depend on its needs and the cohort’s delivery plan; the call does not promise a particular legal service or a specific financial benefit.

Who the Cohort IV call was for

The published eligibility section names legally registered civil society organisations operating in Nigeria, Ghana, or Senegal. It includes non-governmental organisations, community-based or grassroots organisations, and faith-based organisations. The call gives priority consideration to women-led and youth-led organisations and encourages grassroots and emerging organisations with limited institutional support.

An applicant needed to have been active for at least two years and to show a clear commitment to social justice, human rights, open civic space, advocacy, or related work. It also needed at least five full-time staff or a consistent volunteer structure, willingness to participate actively in training and mentoring throughout the cohort, and readiness to share relevant organisational documents for compliance review. The examples in the official call include a registration certificate, constitution, board list, and policy manuals.

These conditions point to organisations that already have community or advocacy work underway and want to improve the systems that allow them to continue it. The support could be relevant to a civic education group with incomplete governance records, a rights organisation trying to manage changing compliance duties, or a grassroots organisation that needs clearer internal roles and documented procedures. Those are examples of potential fit, not additional eligibility categories published by the organisers.

The call does not describe itself as a general-purpose grant for new projects. A group whose immediate need is unrestricted money would not find a stated cash award here. A group that is not registered, has not yet built the required operating history, or cannot commit staff or volunteers to sustained participation should not assume that the call’s encouragement of emerging organisations overrides its stated requirements. The encouragement applies to grassroots or emerging groups that still meet the published criteria.

Cohort IV timeline and the published deadline

The English call page says applications opened on 19 December 2025 and gives 30 January 2026 as the deadline. The official French-language edition, posted on 24 February 2026, instead lists 8 March 2026 as the deadline and specifies 11:59 p.m. GMT. That French page is a later-dated official edition and presents 8 March as the application deadline for Cohort IV, so this archive uses that date in its deadline field. The organisers do not describe it as an extension on the page, so the conflicting English deadline remains part of the record rather than being explained away.

The French edition places notification and Cohort IV onboarding in March 2026 and says that training, coaching, and mentoring would run from March through November 2026. The English edition lists notification and onboarding in February, followed by support from March through November. These are differences between official versions of the call; they do not change the fact that both versions describe a completed round. The programme overview describes a 12-month model, while the timeline on the call page gives the specific delivery months for Cohort IV.

The official CSR-Hub news page reported Cohort IV delivery activity in 2026, including a digital-security training announcement dated 4 May 2026. Later, the hub published a project milestone article, “The Resilience Diaries—Voices of Change from West Africa,” on 15 August 2026. That later reporting describes the wider initiative; it does not announce a new intake for the civic-space and compliance pillar. The official call and news pages reviewed for this update show Cohort IV activity and project reporting but no subsequent application round for this specific pillar. The hub’s pillar page still displays a general “Submit Application” link, but it does not identify a new intake or supply a new deadline. A standing programme description, activity report, or generic application button is not enough to establish that this closed cohort’s form is open. Applicants should wait for a dated notice naming the relevant pillar and intake before sending information through an online form.

What the application requested

The Cohort IV call linked to a SurveyMonkey application form. The archived form displayed organisation-profile questions, including the organisation’s name and acronym, country, city, address and contact details, organisation type, website or social accounts, legal status, head-of-organisation contact details, staffing, thematic focus, vision and mission, and whether the organisation had a governing board. The call separately required applicants to be willing to share relevant documents for compliance review and to participate in the training and mentoring activities.

The application sequence described by the call was straightforward:

  1. Check that the organisation met the country, legal-registration, operating-history, staffing or volunteer, and participation requirements.
  2. Follow the SurveyMonkey link attached to the Cohort IV call and complete the organisation profile and focus questions.
  3. Provide a clear account of the organisation’s work and its commitment to social justice, human rights, open civic space, advocacy, or related work where requested.
  4. Be prepared to share relevant organisational records for compliance review and to take part in training and mentoring if selected.

The call names a registration certificate, constitution, board list, and policy manuals as examples of relevant records. It does not say that every listed document had to be uploaded with the initial form, nor does it publish a fixed attachment checklist. It is useful to distinguish information requested in the form from documents that applicants agreed to share for review. The archived application form also contains an older deadline than the later official French call page; its date should not be treated as the final deadline.

The form is no longer a valid route to apply for Cohort IV. Do not send sensitive organisational records through an old form unless the organisers publish a new call and explicitly direct applicants to it. For a future round, begin from the official hub call page and follow only the application link attached to that new announcement. The current listing of a general pillar page is not enough to establish that applications are open or that an old form is being reused.

Preparation guidance for a future call

Although this cycle is closed, organisations can prepare useful records without assuming another round will use the same form. Keep registration and governance documents together, record who is responsible for compliance tasks, and maintain a current staff or volunteer picture. A concise account of the organisation’s work in civic space, human rights, social justice, advocacy, or legal reform can help explain why compliance and protection support is relevant.

It may also help to identify one or two specific operational problems before a future call appears. Examples include unclear board approval procedures, an outdated policy manual, inconsistent record-keeping, uncertainty over reporting obligations, or an incomplete risk-management process. Describe what is happening, how it affects the organisation’s work, and what practical change would make a difference. Tie each proposed improvement to a person or role that could carry it forward. These are preparation suggestions, not additional selection criteria published for Cohort IV.

Organisations should be candid about missing policies or unfinished processes. If a future application asks about institutional readiness, a clear explanation of the gap and the organisation’s plan to address it is more useful than claiming systems are complete when they are not. Before applying to any new round, confirm that the organisation meets the announced country, registration, operating-history, staffing or volunteer, and participation conditions. Confirm the deadline and list of required documents from that round’s own call.

Understanding the value and limits

A year-long capacity-strengthening model can be useful when a team needs time to put guidance into practice, assign owners, and revisit progress with a coach or mentor. Peer learning may also give organisations a chance to compare approaches to governance, compliance, and civic-space risks. These forms of support can strengthen an organisation’s own systems, but they do not replace independent legal advice, an audit, or the organisation’s duty to comply with national law.

The published call does not provide a cash budget for participants. Organisations considering a future cohort should therefore budget their own staff time and any internal costs rather than counting on a stipend or project grant. They should also consider who can attend sessions and who can make decisions about policy or governance changes. Participation is most likely to be useful when leadership backs the work and a responsible staff member or volunteer can follow through on agreed actions.

Frequently asked questions

Can an organisation apply now using the Cohort IV form?

No. Cohort IV’s latest published deadline was 8 March 2026, and the round is closed. The linked form belongs to that cycle. Wait for a new dated call and use its application route.

Why does the page record 8 March when the English call says 30 January?

The official English post lists 30 January 2026. A later official French edition, posted on 24 February 2026, lists 8 March 2026 at 11:59 p.m. GMT. The French page does not call this an extension, so the two published dates cannot be reconciled from the call notices alone. This historical page uses the date in the later-published edition and states the conflict. The application link sits on a page with its own schedule and should not override either call notice.

Was this a cash grant?

The official call describes training, coaching, mentoring, advice, action-planning support, and peer learning. It does not state a cash award amount or promise direct funding.

Which organisations were prioritised?

The call says women-led and youth-led organisations would receive priority consideration. It encourages grassroots and emerging organisations with limited institutional support, provided they meet the stated requirements.

What documents were named?

The official call gives a registration certificate, constitution, board list, and policy manuals as examples of relevant organisational documents for compliance review. It does not publish a fixed, exhaustive upload list.

Is another cohort announced?

The official pages checked for this update do not announce a subsequent cohort of this specific call. The hub’s continuing descriptions of its pillars are not themselves a dated new application call.

Official sources

The English call gives the programme description, support model, eligibility conditions, and examples of relevant documents. The later French edition supplies the final published deadline recorded here. WACSI’s project page identifies the co-lead organisations. Consult a newly dated official call if CSR-Hub opens another round; do not rely on Cohort IV’s dates or form for a later cycle.

Next step
Check official source