Historical Fellowship

Corsicana Artist and Writer Residency: 2027 Cycle Archive and 2028 Application Outlook

Historical reference for the closed 2027 Corsicana Artist and Writer Residency cycle. The official site says 2028 applications open July 1, 2027, but has not published a 2028 deadline or application requirements.

JJ Ben-Joseph, founder of FindMyMoney.App
Reviewed by JJ Ben-Joseph
Official source: Corsicana Artist & Writer Residency
đź’° Funding For the 2027 cycle: funded private studio and lodging accommodations and public programming
đź“… Deadline Historical reference
📍 Location United States, Corsicana, Texas and Worldwide
🏛️ Source Corsicana Artist & Writer Residency

Corsicana Artist and Writer Residency: 2027 Cycle Archive and 2028 Application Outlook

The Corsicana Artist and Writer Residency offers visual artists and writers two-month periods of focused work in historic Corsicana, Texas. Its official application page labels the 2027 round closed and gives September 1, 2026 as its deadline. The same page announces that applications for the 2028 residency open July 1, 2027. At the metadata date for this reference, that application window is still in the future; the host has not published its deadline, application form, or 2028 requirements. This page therefore preserves the published 2027 cycle and points readers to the next confirmed milestone without presenting an unannounced deadline as fact.

The program is run by the Corsicana Artist & Writer Residency, founded at 100 West in 2012 and organized in 2017 as a 501(c)(3) nonprofit. Its setting is a three-story former Odd Fellows lodge in downtown Corsicana, about fifty miles south of Dallas. This reference explains what the official page specified for the closed 2027 round, including its accommodation, costs, eligibility, terms, and application materials. Applicants interested in the next round should return to the official page when it opens and use the new cycle’s own requirements.

Current status

The opportunity described here is the 2027 cycle, and its application deadline has passed. The official page labels that application round closed. It separately announces that 2028 applications open July 1, 2027. That is an opening date, not a deadline, and no 2028 deadline is stated yet. There is no basis to treat the closed 2027 application as accepting late submissions or as rolling. Do not submit using the old round’s materials unless the organization publishes them again for the new cycle.

The 2027 page remains useful as a guide to the residency’s published model, but details can change. In particular, the number of residents, term dates, media restrictions, application charge, samples, and fee arrangements below are documented for 2027. They should not be assumed to carry forward unchanged. The host’s site is the authority for any future application.

The residency and its setting

The residency hosts artists and writers in 100 West, a former Odd Fellows lodge whose construction dates to the 1890s. The building is used for private studios and living space. The official program describes a studio practice centered on sustained, self-directed work, alongside introductions to professional networks and institutions in North Texas. Corsicana’s small-town setting, its history, and its position between the cultural and geographic South and West form part of the context. Applicants should consider whether that quieter environment suits their working habits rather than treating the residency as an urban arts program.

The program’s wider activity includes a bookstore featuring resident work and recommendations, the Anteroom exhibition space, and education programs with Dallas-area universities. These connections can add audiences and conversations, but the host emphasizes that studio focus comes first. A resident should arrive with a project they can carry forward independently, not with an expectation that staff will produce work for them or provide a large schedule of organized activities.

The residency has been operating since 2012. Its official mission page reports that 179 artists and writers from across the United States and 18 countries have been hosted since then. That history indicates an international program, although it does not establish that every discipline or proposed process can be supported in every term. The application guidance remains the place to confirm whether a particular project is feasible.

Published 2027 cohort and terms

For the 2027 round, the residency stated that it would accept six artists and three writers, with two artists and one writer hosted in each term. Each term was described as two months. The published schedule was:

  • Winter: January 4 to February 23.
  • Spring: March 1 to April 27.
  • Fall: October 11 to December 7.

The official page does not state the year beside each term range in that schedule, but the surrounding application section identifies the cohort as the 2027 residency. These are archived 2027 dates, not a schedule for the 2028 round. The cycle’s application deadline was September 1, 2026. The host said it would notify applicants of acceptance, waitlist, or decline by October 1, 2026; accepted applicants were to confirm 2027 dates in the first week of October. These milestones have elapsed, so they are included for the record rather than as actions available to a new applicant.

What the 2027 funding covered

For 2027, funding covered the studio and lodging accommodations and public programming. The host described the studios as private, furnished, and fully funded, with lodging at 100 West. Professional documentation in photo, video, and writing was included, as were staff support, equipment access, and transportation to and from Dallas/Fort Worth airports for the residency. Bicycles were provided in Corsicana. The page also described access to digital projectors, an intaglio printing press, construction tools, and the wood shop; the available equipment can vary by room and should be checked with the host if it is central to a project.

“Fully funded” did not mean that all personal costs were paid. The 2027 page assigned travel to Texas, meals, materials, and research expenses to residents. Accepted applicants who committed to a term were responsible for a one-time, non-refundable $200 administration fee, due by November 1, 2026. Separately, submitting the 2027 application required a $30 application fee. Those are different charges: the application fee accompanied an application, while the administration fee applied to an accepted applicant who committed to attend. There was no general cash stipend listed as part of the funded studio and lodging offer.

The official page also noted an optional opportunity for some residents to visit university master of fine arts students and give a presentation in Dallas for a $500 honorarium. This was presented as optional and additional, not as a guaranteed award or part of every resident’s funding. Prospective residents should build a budget around the confirmed room, studio, and program support and should not count on optional paid activities to meet essential costs.

Who could apply in the 2027 round

The 2027 call welcomed artists and writers of international, United States, and Texas origin. Applications were limited to one person per studio. The page did not list a degree, career-stage, gallery, or publication threshold. Since those requirements are not stated, this archive does not add them. A future applicant should read the 2028 call itself for any revised eligibility language.

Some practices had explicit limits. Ceramic, fiberglass, and aerosol-based work were not accommodated in the 2027 round. The host said sound-based work was generally not hosted. Performance, composition, and sound-based applicants were asked to contact the residency director before applying to check whether the program could support the work successfully; headphones were generally expected to limit sound traveling to other studios. An applicant whose process depends on a restricted medium should not assume that the limitation has changed for a later year. The 2028 page may clarify or revise it when the new application opens.

The residency’s working style also matters to fit. Residents were expected to be self-directed and self-sufficient, with studio productivity taking priority over social programming. The program scheduled a short presentation during the residency and an open-studio event near its end. Applicants should be comfortable discussing their work with visitors and sharing the space respectfully with other residents. Writers should note that the official description of the writing studio explains that the room also serves as a passage to an artist studio; it is not described as an absolutely quiet, fully private environment.

2027 application materials, for reference

The closed 2027 application used different work samples for artists and writers. Artist applicants submitted five examples of work. Writer applicants submitted two examples, with a maximum of 2,000 words per sample; poets could include multiple works in each sample. Applicants listed two references, but recommendation letters were not required. The application charge was $30. Applications were submitted through the official Apply page.

These details can help someone understand the shape of the previous call, but they are not a valid 2028 checklist until the organization confirms them. Do not prepare a submission on the assumption that the number of examples, word limits, references, fee, or portal will remain identical. When the 2028 application opens, first read the complete instructions, confirm that your materials fit the form, and follow its current directions. The official page currently announces the opening date but does not yet provide a new deadline or a complete next-cycle application form.

For a future submission, it is sensible to keep a portfolio or writing samples ready, confirm permission to list references, and prepare a concise description of the work you want to advance during a two-month period. These are general preparation steps, not additional requirements imposed by the 2027 call. Tailor any proposal to the actual studio and resources that the next application describes. For example, mention equipment only when it is listed as available and relevant to your methods; do not assume access to tools or production assistance that the host has not promised.

Considering Corsicana as a working environment

The building and town are part of the opportunity’s practical conditions. The residency describes shared kitchen and dining spaces, weekly cleaning of shared areas, laundry facilities, and internet access at 100 West. The studio environment is historic and simply furnished. Residents are expected to leave studios in the condition in which they received them; the host says damage caused by negligent use can lead to repair expenses. A proposal involving messy, permanent, or unusually heavy processes should be discussed with the organization before applying.

The official material describes downtown Corsicana as walkable for everyday needs and says bicycles are available. It also describes complimentary airport rides for arrivals and departures on residency dates. The building has no elevator and is accessible only by a steep staircase. Anyone with mobility questions should contact the residency directly before making plans. Families and pets are not accommodated, according to the published accommodation information. Those are meaningful conditions to weigh alongside the value of a furnished studio and lodging.

The small cohort can support an intensive working period and close contact with other makers, but it also requires consideration for neighbors. Work that produces sound, fumes, dust, or other effects on shared spaces needs advance discussion. The published restrictions are practical limits on the available site, not a judgment about the quality of a medium or an artist’s practice. A good fit is one where the project can be carried out safely and productively in the actual room and with the actual facilities offered.

Next steps for the 2028 cycle

The next actionable milestone published by the host is that 2028 residency applications open July 1, 2027. That date is confirmed on the official Apply page. No application deadline for the 2028 cycle is listed there yet. Check the application page at or after opening for the current cohort size, dates, eligibility, media limits, costs, and materials. If the page has not yet been updated with full instructions, contact the residency through the application questions link rather than inferring terms from the 2027 round.

Until the next call is available, a prospective applicant can assess whether a two-month, self-directed stay in Corsicana suits their work and budget. Think through how the project fits a private studio, what materials and equipment it needs, how travel and meals would be covered, and whether the building’s accessibility and shared living arrangements work for you. Writers can consider whether they are comfortable working in the described studio layout. Artists can identify any process constraints that need a direct answer from the host. These considerations can make it easier to decide whether to apply once the live call is published.

Do not treat the old deadline as open, use the archived term dates as a promise of future scheduling, or pay the prior application fee outside an active application. The 2027 round is closed. The 2028 opening is announced, but its deadline and detailed requirements remain to be checked in the next application cycle.

Official source

The verified program and application information is on the Corsicana Artist and Writer Residency Apply page. The organization’s mission page describes the residency’s nonprofit status, founding, and program purpose. Always rely on the Apply page’s latest instructions for any future submission.

Next step
Check official source