Open Paid Research Internship With Stipend

CaCTüS Summer Research Internship 2027

A three-month research internship in Tübingen for bachelor’s and master’s students interested in AI, cognition and related research fields.

JJ Ben-Joseph, founder of FindMyMoney.App
Reviewed by JJ Ben-Joseph
Official source: Max Planck Institutes in Tübingen and Tübingen AI Center
💰 Funding Full stipend for three months
📅 Deadline Nov 16, 2026
📍 Location Tübingen, Germany and Worldwide applicants
🏛️ Source Max Planck Institutes in Tübingen and Tübingen AI Center

CaCTüS Summer Research Internship 2027

The CaCTüS Summer Research Internship is a three-month placement in Tübingen, Germany, for bachelor’s and master’s students, including recent graduates, with a strong interest in research connecting artificial intelligence and cognition. The 2027 program is presented by the Max Planck Institutes in Tübingen and Tübingen AI Center. Its listed areas include machine learning, electrical engineering, theoretical neuroscience, behavioral experiments, and data analysis.

The 2027 application portal opened on 21 October 2026, and the published deadline is 16 November 2026. Interviews are scheduled for January 2027, acceptance notifications for February, and the internship runs from 1 July through 30 September 2027. The program lists a full three-month stipend, travel and accommodation assistance, mentors, cohort events, and a peer network. The stipend amount and assistance limits are not specified in the available information. See the official CaCTüS page for the current application link and instructions.

At a glance

Detail2027 information
HostsMax Planck Institutes in Tübingen and Tübingen AI Center
Duration and location1 July–30 September 2027, in Tübingen, Germany
Intended applicantsBachelor’s or master’s students, enrolled or recently graduated; applicants worldwide
Research scopeAI and cognition, including machine learning, electrical engineering, theoretical neuroscience, behavioral experiments, and data analysis
FundingFull stipend for three months; amount unspecified. Travel and accommodation assistance are listed; limits unspecified.
CohortUp to 12 places per year; mentors, cohort events, and peer network listed
Application route“Apply now” link on the official page, leading to an application portal
Key datesDeadline: 16 November 2026; interviews: January 2027; notifications: February 2027

Overview and support

This is a research internship rather than a general course or conference. The program describes projects spanning technical and behavioral research related to AI and cognition. Its named areas include machine learning and electrical engineering, theoretical neuroscience, behavioral experiments, and data analysis. These are the fields the program identifies; they do not establish that a project in each area will be available in 2027. Review the current portal for project descriptions or preferences before deciding how to present your fit.

The program describes a full stipend for the three-month period in Tübingen, but gives no value, payment schedule, or definition of costs covered by “full.” Travel and accommodation assistance are also listed without amounts or limits. Before booking travel or housing, check the portal or ask through its official contact route what support covers and whether conditions apply.

The program lists up to 12 internship places per year, mentors, cohort events, and a peer network. The brief does not specify mentor meeting frequency, event schedules, or whether every intern participates in the same activities. Check the official source if those details affect your plans.

Who should apply and eligibility

The stated audience is bachelor’s and master’s students who are currently enrolled or recently graduated and have a strong interest in research at the intersection of AI and cognition. The source does not define “recently graduated.” If you have completed your degree, check the portal for a qualifying graduation period or ask the program directly; do not infer a cutoff date.

Relevant fields named by the program include machine learning, electrical engineering, theoretical neuroscience, behavioral science, and data analysis. The list suggests computational, engineering, theoretical, experimental, or analytical routes into the research; it does not require one specific degree subject. No minimum grade, programming language, publication record, or research duration is stated here. Check the portal for additional criteria and describe your preparation accurately.

Applicants may be based worldwide. The program especially encourages students who are both from and living in low- and middle-income countries. That is an encouragement, not an exclusive eligibility category: the program is open to applicants worldwide. The supplied information does not define which country classifications it uses or explain whether it asks applicants to document origin and residence. If this affects your eligibility or application, confirm the interpretation in the portal or with the program.

How to Apply

The official page provides an “Apply now” link to the application portal. The brief confirms this application route but does not list the portal’s steps or required documents. Use the live portal as the authority for what to submit. The following sequence combines confirmed information with clearly marked preparation advice; it does not add unofficial requirements.

  1. Open the official page and follow “Apply now.” Confirm that the destination is for the 2027 CaCTüS internship before entering information.
  2. Read the portal instructions in full. Check eligibility, project descriptions, form questions, document list, formats, and submission method. The available information does not confirm whether a CV, transcript, statement, references, or any other item is required; prepare only what the portal asks for.
  3. Prepare a focused account of your research fit. As optional preparation, identify a listed area that interests you and concrete experience, coursework, methods, or projects that relate to it. Follow the portal’s prompts and do not present interests as experience you already have.
  4. Resolve funding and logistics questions. Look for the stipend amount and the terms for travel and accommodation assistance. These details are not included in the brief. If the portal does not answer them, ask using contact information on the official site before making financial commitments.
  5. Submit by 16 November 2026. Follow the portal’s completion and confirmation instructions, and leave time to resolve technical or content questions. The brief does not state whether late submissions or post-submission edits are accepted, so plan around the published deadline.

If portal instructions are unclear or conflict with the program page, ask through the official contact route shown on the site or portal. Ask what graduation period qualifies as “recently graduated” and what limits apply to funding. The brief supplies no contact details, so use only those currently published on the official site.

Timeline and deadlines

The application portal opened on 21 October 2026, with the deadline set for 16 November 2026. As of the brief’s report date, 21 October, applications are open. That status is date-specific; readers checking later should use the official page to determine whether the portal is still accepting submissions or whether the schedule has changed.

The program schedules interviews for January 2027 and acceptance notifications for February 2027. No exact dates, interview format, selection criteria, or notification method are given. Ask the program if you need details for planning.

The internship runs from 1 July through 30 September 2027 in Tübingen. Arrival, orientation, and departure arrangements are not stated; confirm them before comparing travel and housing options.

Preparation and common mistakes

These suggestions are preparation advice, not extra program requirements. Before drafting, make a short outline connecting your interests to one or more of the areas the program actually names. Note supporting evidence such as a project, method, research question, or skill you want to develop. Distinguish demonstrated experience from future interest, and follow the portal’s prompts.

Build your application checklist from the live portal. The brief does not identify required documents, so assuming that a CV, transcript, recommendation, or statement is mandatory could waste time or lead you to miss a portal-specific request. Follow the listed length, file limits, and submission steps. Ask about ambiguity before the deadline.

Avoid assuming that a listed research field guarantees a particular project or supervisor. The available facts identify broad areas, but do not enumerate 2027 projects or explain how placements are matched. If the portal presents project options, refer to those descriptions directly. Also avoid making a budget based on an assumed stipend value or travel allowance: neither the amount nor support limits are published in the supplied information. Request those terms before making nonrefundable plans.

Frequently asked questions

Is the application open?

The portal opened on 21 October 2026, and the deadline is 16 November 2026. “Open” describes the status as of the supplied report date, 21 October. Check the official page for current status if you are reading later or after the deadline.

How much is the stipend, and what expenses are covered?

The program describes a full stipend for three months and lists travel and accommodation assistance. The stipend value and the amount or coverage limits for the additional assistance are not stated in the available information. Confirm the terms through the portal or official contact route before budgeting.

What application materials are required?

The brief does not list documents or portal steps. Follow the “Apply now” link on the official page and use the live portal’s checklist. Do not assume that a CV, transcript, references, or statement is required unless the portal asks for it.

Can a recent graduate apply?

Yes, the stated audience includes currently enrolled students and recent graduates at bachelor’s or master’s level. The program has not defined “recently graduated” in the information summarized here, so check the portal or ask about your graduation date.

Who can apply from outside Germany?

Applicants worldwide may apply. Students who are both from and living in low- and middle-income countries are especially encouraged. The supplied information does not explain the country classification or how origin and residence are verified; consult the official instructions if relevant.

When does the internship take place?

The placement is scheduled for 1 July through 30 September 2027 in Tübingen. Arrival, orientation, and departure details are not stated here and should be confirmed through the program.

Official source

Use the CaCTüS Summer Research Internship page for the application portal and current program information. It is the appropriate place to verify eligibility interpretation, required materials, project details, stipend and assistance terms, and any schedule updates. The facts in this article do not confirm document requirements, support amounts, or portal steps; check those points directly before submitting or making travel plans.

Next step
Apply Now