Historical Fellowship

Broadbent Institute Emerging Leaders Program 2026 (Historical Reference)

Historical reference for the Broadbent Institute’s 2026 Emerging Leaders Program in Canada. Applications closed January 9, 2026; the Institute has not announced a later application cycle on its official program page.

JJ Ben-Joseph, founder of FindMyMoney.App
Reviewed by JJ Ben-Joseph
Official source: Broadbent Institute
💰 Funding $5,400
📅 Deadline Historical reference
🏛️ Source Broadbent Institute

Broadbent Institute Emerging Leaders Program 2026 (Historical Reference)

The Broadbent Institute’s 2026 Emerging Leaders Program is a completed application cycle. The Institute’s official program page says applications are closed and lists January 9, 2026 as the deadline. The Institute’s April 2026 bulletin later reported that the 2026 cohort gathered at the Progress Summit. The official program page currently presents no later application call or deadline. This page is therefore an archive of the 2026 opportunity, not an invitation to apply now.

The real deadline remains in the metadata because it is the deadline for this historical cycle. No future deadline should be inferred from the fact that the Institute describes the program as recurring each year. Applicants interested in a later round should check the Broadbent Institute’s own program page and announcements for a new call. The official page is the source of truth for any future eligibility rules, dates, and application instructions.

2026 opportunity at a glance

Category2026 cycle
OrganizerBroadbent Institute
OpportunityEmerging Leaders Program
StatusApplications closed; historical reference
Application deadlineJanuary 9, 2026
GeographyLeaders from across Canada
Participation value$5,400
Time commitment published3–4 hours each month, plus the two in-person events
Main in-person events2026 Progress Summit in Ottawa, March 4–6; 2026 Progress Gala in Toronto in November
Official pagehttps://broadbentinstitute.ca/emerging-leaders-program/

The amount is described as a participation value, not as a cash award to participants. The Institute says that it covers travel, accommodation, and meals for in-person programming, facilitator and mentorship honorariums, and coordination and support for program components. The Institute covers participation costs for selected Emerging Leaders. It also encourages applicants to explore organizational sponsorship. The official page lists full sponsorship at $5,400 and partial sponsorship at $2,000; these are sponsorship amounts, not alternate personal grants.

What the program was designed to provide

The Broadbent Institute describes the Emerging Leaders Program as a training initiative for early- to mid-career organizers and leaders committed to a fairer and more inclusive society. It aims to develop participants’ skills, mentorship relationships, and networks as preparation for larger leadership responsibilities. Its published objectives include hands-on training, expert guidance, collaborative learning, and a curriculum focused on equity.

The listed skill areas are practical and connected to organizing and public-interest work. They include team leadership and communication, advocacy campaign organizing, government relations from both insider and outsider positions, stakeholder engagement, consultation and consensus building, and the use of digital, social, and traditional media to communicate ideas and build public interest. These are the Institute’s stated development areas; they should not be read as a promise of a promotion, job placement, credential, or specific career result.

The program was structured around ongoing interaction. The official page describes monthly virtual workshops, panels, and question-and-answer sessions with facilitators. It also describes a dedicated mentor for each participant and six monthly mentor meetings. Networking opportunities were part of the program. The published time estimate was three to four hours per month for training and mentorship, in addition to attendance at the two 2026 in-person events.

There is an inconsistency in the official overview’s duration language. One paragraph calls the program ten months, while the structure section calls it a nine-month program running from March to November. The dates and program elements above are reported as the Institute publishes them; this page does not resolve that difference by silently choosing one duration. For a future cycle, applicants should use the specific schedule in that cycle’s call.

Who the 2026 call sought

The Institute described its intended applicants as community-minded leaders from across Canada who were actively working for positive change and committed to a more just, inclusive, green, and equitable society. It defined an Emerging Leader as someone in the early to mid-stages of a career, with strong leadership potential and a clear understanding of and commitment to social democratic values.

Selection was described as non-partisan and based on applicants’ work to make a positive impact on society, as well as on how further skill development could build capacity around progressive policy priorities in Canada. Those priorities were Climate Action; Decommodification, including areas such as healthcare, housing, education, care work, public ownership, and financialization; Empowering Workers; Rights & Democracy; and Science & Tech for All. The Institute gives examples under each area on the official page. The categories are broad issue areas rather than a list of required job titles or a guarantee that every selected person worked on the same issue.

The Institute encouraged applications from historically underrepresented communities, including Indigenous peoples, racialized people, LGBTQ2S+ people, and people with disabilities. This is an inclusion statement from the organizer. The published page does not specify a minimum number of years of experience, an age limit, a required credential, or a complete scoring rubric. It also does not state a guaranteed cohort size. Those details should not be supplied by third-party summaries unless the Institute publishes them in a future call.

A prospective applicant in a future year should assess the fit against the new cycle’s wording rather than treating this archived profile as a standing set of rules. In particular, the combination of leadership potential, demonstrated work, and alignment with the Institute’s stated priorities is more informative than assuming that a particular sector, position, or level of seniority is automatically eligible.

Program structure and participation expectations

For the 2026 cycle, the Institute listed the Progress Summit in Ottawa from March 4 to March 6 and the Progress Gala in Toronto in November as in-person program anchors. At both events, its page says Emerging Leaders would encounter existing practices and take part in specialized, all-day leadership training. The organization’s description makes attendance a substantial practical consideration: the published monthly time estimate is additional to these events.

Virtual sessions and mentoring made the program more than a pair of conferences. Monthly sessions were to include workshops, panels, and question-and-answer discussions, while mentor meetings were intended to provide guidance and professional relationship building. A participant would have needed to keep space for recurring activity and the in-person program, rather than treating the opportunity as a one-day workshop. That is a description of the published format, not confirmation of flexible attendance, remote alternatives, or accommodations beyond what an individual applicant could discuss with the Institute.

Travel support was included in the stated participation value. The official description says the Institute covers participation costs for selected participants and names travel, accommodation, and meals for in-person programming among the items covered. It does not publish a reimbursement procedure, spending limits, booking instructions, or a detailed accessibility and travel policy on the overview page. A future applicant should confirm those operational details directly with the organizer if the next call does not answer them.

Application status and steps

There is no active application step for this 2026 cycle. The official program page marks the call closed and gives January 9, 2026 as the application deadline. The Institute’s later reporting on its 2026 cohort confirms the selection cycle moved forward into program activity. Do not submit personal information through an old form or treat a cached application link as evidence that applications have reopened.

The official overview does not provide a full record of the application form’s questions, mandatory attachments, interview stages, or selection scoring. It is therefore not possible to state a verified list of materials that every 2026 applicant had to submit from that overview alone. This page does not invent such a list or turn general preparation suggestions into official requirements.

For anyone monitoring a future round, the appropriate sequence is straightforward: visit the official Emerging Leaders Program page, confirm that a new application call is actually open, and then follow the instructions linked from that call. Check its own deadline, eligibility, session schedule, in-person attendance expectations, and requested materials. If the page still reports the previous cycle as closed, there is no current application to complete. Contact the Institute using the contact details it publishes if a future call leaves an important logistics question unanswered.

A future applicant may find it useful to keep concise examples of leadership work and its effects, but that is general preparation advice, not a confirmed requirement for the 2026 form or for any unannounced cycle. Do not send documents or sensitive details unless the organizer requests them through its current official application route. When a new form does open, the form itself and its accompanying instructions should take precedence over this archive.

How to use this historical reference

This entry preserves concrete features of the 2026 call: its stated deadline, participation value, broad applicant profile, learning structure, and event schedule. It can help readers understand what the Institute offered in that cycle and provide a comparison point if the Institute later publishes another call. It cannot establish that the next round will have the same budget, priority areas, dates, duration, travel provisions, or selection process.

The official program page remains the most direct place to check for a changed status. The Institute’s announcement archive can also show whether it has made a new call, while the cohort page and program news can help distinguish an announced opportunity from a cycle already underway. At the time represented by this update, those sources support the 2026 historical record and do not announce a later application deadline.

Treat the $5,400 figure as the published 2026 participation value, rather than a cash payment or a promise that the same support will be available in another year. Likewise, treat the Ottawa and Toronto events as the 2026 schedule. Even if the Institute continues the program, only a new official notice can confirm its next schedule and terms.

The Institute’s program is particularly relevant as a record for people interested in leadership development in Canadian progressive organizing, advocacy, community work, and policy. Its curriculum connects personal leadership with campaigns, public communication, relationship building, and policy priorities. The non-partisan label describes the program’s selection framework; the page also makes clear that it is grounded in social democratic values and progressive policy work. A reader should consider both statements when deciding whether a future call aligns with their own work and commitments.

For the closed 2026 cycle, the appropriate action is to retain this page as historical information and consult the Broadbent Institute for any future announcement. No date for a subsequent application round is confirmed here, and no deadline has been substituted for the real closing date recorded above.

Next step
Check official source