APHRS EP/Pacing Fellowship 2026/27 (Historical Reference): Up to USD 25,000
Historical reference for the closed Asia Pacific Heart Rhythm Society (APHRS) EP/Pacing Fellowship 2026/27. The cycle supported a one-year overseas fellowship in the Asia-Pacific region with up to USD 25,000; APHRS has not announced a following cycle on its official fellowship or news pages.
APHRS EP/Pacing Fellowship 2026/27 (Historical Reference): Up to USD 25,000
The Asia Pacific Heart Rhythm Society (APHRS) EP/Pacing Fellowship Program within the Asia-Pacific Region 2026/27 is a closed funding cycle. APHRS marks the programme page “Applications Closed.” The published application deadline was 15 August 2026 at 23:59 Singapore Time (SGT). APHRS’s fellowship and news listings continue to identify the 2026/27 round, and the official pages checked for this update do not announce a subsequent cycle. This entry is therefore a historical reference, not an invitation to apply or a forecast of another deadline.
The closed cycle supported one year of overseas training within the Asia-Pacific region. Its subject areas were the theoretical and practical aspects of cardiac electrophysiology, catheter ablation, pacing, and implantable cardioverter defibrillator implantation. Each successful applicant could receive up to USD 25,000 to support the one-year fellowship. The amount was a maximum, not a guaranteed payment to every applicant. The public announcement did not specify an expense-by-expense budget, instalments, exchange-rate treatment, or the exact value awarded to an individual fellow.
The application criteria required a regular APHRS membership, citizenship or permanent residence in a country within the Asia-Pacific region, an already secured overseas fellowship position within that region commencing in 2027, and an undertaking to complete the training and return to work in the applicant’s home country. Those requirements describe the completed 2026/27 round only. They should not be assumed to apply unchanged if APHRS publishes a later call.
2026/27 cycle at a glance
| Detail | Published information for the closed cycle |
|---|---|
| Programme | APHRS EP/Pacing Fellowship Program within the Asia-Pacific Region 2026/27 |
| Organiser | Asia Pacific Heart Rhythm Society (APHRS) |
| Status | Applications closed |
| Deadline | 15 August 2026, 23:59 SGT |
| Funding | Up to USD 25,000 for a one-year overseas fellowship |
| Training start | Fellowship position to commence in 2027 |
| Training fields | Cardiac electrophysiology, catheter ablation, pacing, and implantable cardioverter defibrillator implantation |
| Review | Applications reviewed in August 2026 |
| Outcome notification | By 30 September 2026 |
| Official programme page | APHRS EP/Pacing Fellowship Program 2026/27 |
APHRS’s dedicated programme page is the primary source for the criteria, amount, deadline, and timeline above, and it currently marks the 2026/27 call closed. The May 25, 2026 news entry now carries a closed label in its heading, although its announcement text says applications were being accepted when it was posted. The fellowship index still displays an “Applications Open” label for the 2026/27 entry, and the homepage promotional tile still displays a 31 July 2026 deadline. Both conflict with the dedicated page, which gives the deadline as 15 August 2026 at 23:59 SGT and marks applications closed. The dedicated page’s explicit closed status and deadline establish the completed cycle; the older index label and homepage tile do not indicate an open window or a deadline extension. APHRS’s fellowship listing and news page show no later EP/Pacing Fellowship cycle announced, so this page preserves the documented 2026/27 round rather than suggesting another intake.
What the fellowship was designed to support
The programme was intended for clinicians undertaking advanced, structured training in heart-rhythm care. Its description joins theoretical learning with practical training, and names electrophysiology, catheter ablation, pacing, and implantable cardioverter defibrillator implantation. It was not described as a general medical-school scholarship, a conference travel grant, or a mechanism for finding a host institution.
The regional condition applied to the placement: applicants needed to have secured an overseas fellowship position within the Asia-Pacific region. The public page does not give a complete country-by-country definition of the region or spell out how every border case would be assessed. For a future round, both applicants and host programmes would need to consult that round’s own materials rather than relying on this archive to establish regional eligibility.
APHRS’s notice describes a one-year fellowship and provides support toward that training. It does not promise a particular procedure count, clinical credential, qualification, appointment, or employment result. A prospective applicant in a later cycle would need to distinguish the work confirmed by the host institution from the outcomes the funding programme itself guarantees. The archived notice supports only the stated description and funding cap.
Eligibility recorded for the closed round
The first criterion was regular membership of APHRS. The archived public notice specifies a regular member; it does not say that any membership type automatically qualified. Membership therefore formed part of the applicant’s eligibility rather than merely being a benefit associated with the society. The notice does not set out documentation rules or explain whether membership had to be held for a particular length of time.
The second criterion was citizenship or permanent residence in a country within the Asia-Pacific region. In the published wording, this is a legal or residency status requirement, not simply employment in the region. A clinician working at an Asia-Pacific hospital but lacking either status should not have assumed that employment alone met the criterion. The 2026/27 page does not list the evidence applicants had to submit to prove this status.
Third, an applicant had to have successfully secured an overseas fellowship position within the Asia-Pacific region, with training commencing in 2027. This condition made the award support for an existing placement, rather than a placement-search service. The public page does not define the exact document that counted as proof of securing the post or explain how conditional host offers were treated.
The final listed criterion was an undertaking to complete the fellowship and return to work in the home country afterward. That return commitment was part of the published criteria. The announcement does not provide detailed enforcement terms, a required service period, or a specific knowledge-transfer obligation. Such details should not be added to the historical requirements without the application form or formal award conditions as evidence.
These are useful details for understanding the former call, but they are not current application instructions. A later APHRS cycle could retain or revise the criteria, funding ceiling, timing, host requirements, and return commitment. Anyone considering a new round should use the latest official programme page and forms once APHRS announces it.
How the 2026/27 application process worked
APHRS did not publish the complete application form in the public programme-page text. Instead, eligible applicants who had reviewed the criteria and timeline were instructed to contact the society through the protected email link on the programme page to request the forms. APHRS said the forms would be sent within three working days. The detailed page’s protected email element may require JavaScript in a browser to reveal the address.
The stated sequence was to check eligibility and understand the timeline, contact APHRS to request the forms, receive the forms, and complete the application according to the material supplied. The public page does not reproduce the application’s required attachments, word limits, reference rules, or budget categories. It is therefore not possible to assert from that announcement alone that a particular CV, host letter, reference, or budget template was mandatory, even if such documents would commonly help demonstrate the published criteria.
Because the cycle is closed, applicants should not request or submit forms on the assumption that the 2026/27 process remains available. This historical description is included to make the former procedure clear. If APHRS announces a later intake, its own instructions will determine the current contact route, application materials, submission method, and deadline. The form-delivery interval from this completed call should not be treated as a service promise for a future round.
Timeline and outcome information
APHRS published three application milestones for this cycle: an application deadline of 15 August 2026 at 23:59 SGT, a review period in August 2026, and outcome notifications by 30 September 2026. Successful applicants were expected to commence the already secured fellowship training in 2027. The programme page did not give a specific start day in 2027; the exact placement timing would have depended on the host fellowship arrangement.
The date retained in the metadata is the true closing date for the completed round. It is not a future deadline. historicalReference = true identifies the record as an archive entry, so readers can distinguish the documented 2026/27 cycle from an open opportunity. APHRS’s published dates provide no basis for calculating or predicting an application window in another year.
The schedule also helps explain why the pre-secured placement mattered. Since the applicant had to hold a suitable host position before applying, placement arrangements and the APHRS funding request were connected but distinct tasks. The application was not a promise that APHRS would locate a training centre or negotiate acceptance on an applicant’s behalf. The official notice does not identify a standard host letter format, a fixed placement start day, or a required procedure volume.
Funding and planning limits in the public notice
The published award ceiling was USD 25,000 for the one-year overseas fellowship. The page does not identify which costs were eligible, whether support was paid in one or more instalments, or how the final amount was determined. It also does not specify a co-funding requirement. Those financial details cannot safely be inferred from the headline amount.
For historical context, a candidate preparing for the closed cycle would have needed to understand the host programme’s own costs and support separately from APHRS funding. Tuition, accommodation, travel, insurance, visas, licensing, living expenses, and host-provided salary or benefits are examples of questions that the brief public notice does not answer. They are questions to resolve through official award terms and host documentation, not claims that APHRS covered any particular cost.
The same restraint applies to the training outcomes. The programme description identifies clinical fields but does not promise certification, independent procedural privileges, a fixed number of cases, or a job after training. Host institutions may set their own expectations and clinical arrangements. The archived APHRS announcement should be read as a concise description of purpose, broad subject area, eligibility, and funding ceiling rather than as a complete contract.
What a future applicant should verify if another round is announced
APHRS has not announced a following cycle on the official fellowship and news pages reviewed for this update. The 2026/27 notice therefore offers background, not confirmation that another round will occur or that the same conditions will continue. A prospective applicant should first locate a new, dated call on an official APHRS page and confirm that applications are open before investing in a host arrangement or preparing paperwork.
If APHRS publishes another round, verify its named cycle, funding amount, deadline and time zone, eligible membership category, geographic and residency conditions, host-placement requirements, training start period, return undertaking, application form route, attachments, and notification schedule. Compare the new notice with this archive instead of copying requirements forward. Any change to the amount or criteria should be taken from the new official materials, not from an aggregator or a previous cycle’s page.
For a future host plan, the former call suggests the practical importance of a clearly identified one-year placement in the region, but it does not define the evidence a new round will request. Applicants would need to establish the host’s actual acceptance, training focus, timing, and supervision from current documentation. They should distinguish confirmed arrangements from proposals still under discussion and ask APHRS how any unresolved conditions affect eligibility.
Planning for a return to the home country was expressly part of the 2026/27 criteria. If that condition appears in a subsequent call, a candidate could explain the role they expect to resume, the clinical need their training addresses, and realistic ways to share skills with colleagues. This is sensible preparation, not an additional documented scoring rubric for the closed cycle. The official 2026/27 page does not publish reviewer weights or a formal evaluation framework.
Frequently asked questions
Can a clinician apply to the 2026/27 round now?
No. APHRS marks the 2026/27 application call closed. The published deadline was 15 August 2026 at 23:59 SGT, so the round is over.
Has APHRS announced the next EP/Pacing Fellowship cycle?
The official fellowship and news pages checked for this update continue to show the 2026/27 round as the relevant EP/Pacing Fellowship call and mark it closed. They do not announce a later cycle. This archive does not invent a next deadline.
Was every successful applicant awarded USD 25,000?
The notice says each successful applicant may receive funding of up to USD 25,000. “Up to” is a ceiling; the public announcement does not say that all awards were made at that maximum.
Could an applicant apply before securing a host placement?
The published 2026/27 criteria required an overseas fellowship position within the Asia-Pacific region to be successfully secured, with training beginning in 2027. The notice describes support for that placement, not help finding one.
What did applicants have to send with the application?
The public page says applicants should request the application forms and would receive them within three working days. It does not list the full required attachments. The supplied form and its accompanying instructions would have governed the submission.
Where is the official record?
Use the APHRS EP/Pacing Fellowship Program 2026/27 page. It records the programme description, eligibility, amount, completed timeline, form-request process, and closed status.
Archive note
This page preserves the facts of APHRS’s 2026/27 EP/Pacing Fellowship call: a one-year regional overseas placement, up to USD 25,000, the four published eligibility conditions, forms requested from APHRS, and the deadline and outcome schedule. APHRS marks applications closed, and the official pages checked do not announce a successor round. The metadata retains the real deadline, identifies the page as a historical reference, and keeps the verified official programme URL. Readers should return to APHRS’s own fellowship page for any later announcement and rely on that new notice for dates, amounts, eligibility, and application steps.